Fellowship Groups

Find Your Place at St. John's!

In an age of virtual community and a time when most people are overextended, sharing in fellowship matters even more than before. The following opportunities for fellowship are fertile ground for you to know others and be known by them. For more information on any of these opportunities, contact the Reverend Eric Long at 343-9341 or elong@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Our Young Adult group hosts events, like an in-house pub quiz night with trivia, for parishioners ages 21 and over. Email the Reverend Whitney Burton wburton@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Episcopal Church Women (ECW) meets on the first Tuesday of each month, September through May, with the exception of January, for dinner and a program (we're ECW Chapter 9!). Email Ms. Joan Niederlehner at jjnieder@comcast.net.

Foyer Groups are small supper groups that meet four times in one semester. Members take turns hosting and meet at times that suit their schedules. Email Ms. Karen Strickland at kstrickland@waldron.com.

The History and Archives Committee oversees the record keeping of events, materials, memorials, etc. for historical purposes. Email Ms. Mary Field Green at mfieldgreen@aol.com.

Ambassadors provide guidance to parishioners and newcomers who are looking to become more deeply involved or find a new connection to the life of St. John's. Email the Reverend Whitney Burton at wburton@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Rector's Receptions help newcomers meet St. John’s staff and lay leaders. Email the Reverend Whitney Burton at wburton@stjohnsroanoke.org.

The St. John’s Book Club meets on the first Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the fourth floor conference room. The group discusses both fiction and non-fiction. Email the Reverend Mary Mackin at mmackin@stjohnsroanoke.org.

Welcoming Committee members serve as greeters, cook food for new-comers receptions, and write follow-up notes to newcomers. Email Ms. Kathy Clemo at kclemo54@gmail.com or Ms. Sally Moulse at smoulse@cox.net.